DE DANANN: Song For Ireland


Original Issue date: 1983

Issue Formats:
Cara ???? / 1983
Sugar Hill SH-1130 / 1983
Cara ???
Sugar Hill SH-CD-1130 / 1990

Musicians: Frankie Gavin (vocals, fiddle, flute, piano, viola, tin whistle), Alec Finn (bazouki, guitar, mandolin, cello), Johnny (Ringo) McDonagh (bodhran, triangle on 'Barney From Killarney'), Martin O'Connor (accordian), Brendan Reagan (vocals, guitar), Mary Black (vocals), Jackie Daly (accordian), Maura O'Connell (operatic vocals on 'Barney From Killarney')

Track Listing:

Side 1:

  1. The Arrival of The Queen of Sheba (In Galway)
  2. Hard Times *
  3. Mulqueen's Reels
  4. The Turkey In the Straw
  5. Live Not Where I Love *
  6. The Hearty Boys of Ballymoate
Side 2:
  1. Song For Ireland *
  2. The Bells of St. Louis
  3. The Chicken Reel
  4. Charlie Harris' Reels
  5. Jenny Rocking the Cradle
  6. Barney From Killarney *
* songs

[Recorded at Windmill Lane Studioes, Dublin and at Livingston Studios, London]

Album Credits:

  • Produced by: Nick Bicat and De Danann
  • Engineers: Paul Thomas / Kevin Moloney / Dave Bascombe / Tom Leader.

    Notes from Sugar Hill release:

  • Mastered at Masterfonics, Nashville TN
  • Cutting Engineer: Jim Loyd
  • Sleeve Concept: Alec Finn
  • Design: Shoot That Tiger!
  • Cover Painting: Richard Ward
  • Executive Producer: Michael McDonagh
  • Other album notes:

    "Special thanks to: Allison Lee / Michael McDonagh / Nick Bicat / Geoff & Sue Hughs / Phil & June Colclough / Maggie Caddon / Betty Dolan / Nancy Iverson / Sean Gavin / Maura O'Connell, who provided songs, beds, drinks, videos in England and the USA and to Elderly Instruments, East Lansing, USA"

    Additions, changes, comments welcomed - send mail to webmaster: webmaster @ (remove spaces when you type the address)

    the contents of any recordings listed / referenced in these pages is copyright © the appropriate musical or publishing copyright owners.

    Website pages copyright © 1995-1998 Carolyn Andre, including HTML, original scans and digitized artwork.