Alice Gomez

Madalyn Blanchett & Marilyn Rife

Flutes, often playing in unison, take listeners on a unique journey tracing the migrations of Native people from the American Great Plains to the Andean mountains. Flutes are framed by a variety of instruments, including percussion, guitar and synthesizer.

1995 - Talking Taco TT-128.
U.S. distribution by Allegro Music, Canadian distribution by Holborne Distributing Co. Ltd.

[Tracks]  [Musicians]  [Instruments]  [Production Credits

Album Tracks:

  1. Forgotten Empires (4:50) [Note: 1 below] [Listen!]
  2. Sacred Flutes (3:27)
  3. Chichen Itza (6:08)
  4. Mayan Lullabye (3:22)
  5. Volcanos (3:40) [Listen!]
  6. Children of the Sun (3:14) [Listen!]
  7. Morning Star (3:20) [Listen!]
  8. Lost Tribes (3:01)
  9. Danzantes (3:28)
  10. Journey to Yucatan (3:56) [Listen!]
  11. Xochipilli (3:50) [Listen!]
  12. Native Lands (4:00) [Listen!]

Total Time: 44:11

Copyright © Musiquest (ASCAP All Rights Reserved)

A portion of the proceeds from the sale of this recording benefit the Native American children of the Southwest through The Save The Children Program. For more information about Save The Children, write: Save The Children, 54 Wilton Road, Westport, CT 06880.

"Forgotten Empires" also appears on Talking Taco compilation "Wind Riders" Copyright © 1995.

[Tracks]  [Order "Journeys of the Flute"]  [Musicians]  [Production]  [Contacts]


Madalyn Blanchett:
Sopranino, soprano, alto, tenor, bass and great bass recorders
Alice Gomez:
Guitar, synthesizer, keyboard bass, percussion
Marilyn Rife:
Marimba, keyboard bass, percussion

Percussion instruments used: Peruvian bombo, African basket rattle, African seed pods, Indian gourd cabasa, chulus (goat hoof rattles), guiro, maracas, claves, congas, bongos, concert tom-toms, marimba, orchestra bells, Chinese Wuhan gongs, suspended cymbal, bamboo buzz sticks, Native American dance bells.

[Tracks]  [Musicians]  [Production]  [Contacts]

Production Credits

  • All tracks composed and arranged by Alice Gomez
  • Special thanks to the San Antonio Symphony for the use of its concert percussion instruments.
  • Cover Art: Randy Felker
  • Original Artwork: Tom Veltri
  • Photo: Joan Snow
  • Recording Engineer: Joe Treviño (Blue Cat Studios, San Antonio, Texas)
  • Producer: Alice Gomez
  • Executive Producer: Ben Tavera King

[Tracks]  [Musicians]  [Production]  [Contacts]


[Alice Gomez]  [Marilyn Rife]  [Madalyn Blanchett] 

[Recordings]  [Sound Samples]  [Order Recordings]  [Contact Musiquest]  [Musiquest Website]

Copyright © 1996-2001 Musiquest and Talking Taco Music. Original artwork by Tom Veltri
Page Design by: Carolyn A. Andre.